Haiti’s Battle

This morning my mother called me letting me know that Haiti had an aftershock of 6.1 magnitude.  Talk about insult to injury.  My heart goes out to the thousands of Haitians affected by the unavoidable disaster.

Last week, I donated to the Red Cross by texting Haiti to 90999.  This morning after learning of the after math I decided to fly over to assist.  When I logged on the computer I began searching for volunteer efforts that would allow me such the opportunity.  Quickly I became discouraged and probably slammed back to reality when I read that many charities are taking experienced people in certain fields.  So essentially, I wouldn’t be able to go and do little things like set up a tent, or pass out water.  I guess that makes sense, since there is so much more to the recovery process than simple tasks that can be handed off to the locals.  Oh and there’s also the thing with the passport! Damn passport.

I just wish there was something greater that I can do to assist.  Adopt a Haitian child who fell victim to the quake? Hmm maybe a good possibility, but of course that will have to be thought out a bit longer.

I am sending positive vibes in the air to everyone affected by the quake.

